Latest News County Clare

Clare & Waterford name teams for Sunday’s championship clash

in Home/Sport by

*Jack Browne & Shane Bennett will renew acquaintances on Sunday. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Both Clare and Waterford have announced their starting teams for Sunday’s Munster senior hurling championship clash.

Cratloe’s Diarmuid Ryan will make his senior championship debut as he is included at wing-forward alongside Tony Kelly and Peter Duggan. Shane O’Donnell will make his first competitive appearance of the year for his county while John Conlon has overcome an ankle injury to join O’Donnell and Podge Collins in the full-forward line.

Jack Browne has played at centre-back in recent challenge games against Laois and Dublin, The Clare Echo understands the Ballyea man will continue in the same position on Sunday marking Austin Gleeson despite being named to start in the corner with Colm Galvin moving to midfield as a result.

For his opening championship game as manager, Páraic Fanning is keeping faith with the players that defeated Clare in the National League quarter-final. Twelve members of the starting fifteen lined out in Waterford’s fourteen point win over the Banner.

Sunday’s tie throws in at 2pm in Walsh Park.

1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)

2. Pat O’Connor (Tubber – captain)

3. David McInerney (Tulla)

4. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

5. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

6. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)

7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

8. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)

9. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)

10. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

12. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)

13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)

14. John Conlon (Clonlara)

15. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
16. Andrew Fahy (Whitegate)
17. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
18. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
19. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
20. Niall Deasy (Ballyea)
21. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)
22. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
23. David Conroy (St. Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
24. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
25. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley)
26. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)

3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)

4. Noel Connors (Passage)

5. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

6. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore)

7. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)

9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

10. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

11. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

12. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

15. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top