No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

A hotly fancied Clare under 20 football side bowed out of the Munster championship at the first hurdle on Thursday evening.

Waterford 4-05
Clare 1-09
Venue: Fraher Field, Dungarvan

At Fraher Field in Dungarvan this Thursday evening, three goals from Waterford full forward Tom O’Connell inspired the home side to victory and a place in next week’s semi-final.

Waterford displayed the greater hunger for victory, particularly in the final quarter when the game was in the balance.

Clare were dealt a blow before the throw in as defender Darragh Conneely failed a late fitness test which led to Éire Óg’s Gavin D’Auria getting the call up to fill the left half back position.

Clare Echo Planning

The Banner outfit started well and raced three points clear after eleven minutes but in the next five minutes the home side hit 2-2 without reply and led at the first waterbreak on a score of 2-2 to 0-3.

Full forward Tom O’Donnell scored both goals for the Déise outfit, the second after a magnificent catch from a Kiely delivery.

To Clare’s credit they held Waterford scoreless in the second quarter while they struck for four points, two from Mark McInerney and one each from Emmett McMahon and substitute Brian McNamara.

Waterford had a couple of chances from frees but they failed to find the target.
The visitors to Fraher Field regained the lead three minutes into the second half when Mark Mc|Inerney found the net from the penalty spot. A good Clare move looked to have been halted but Waterford lost possession and Emmett McMahon was fouled in the square resulting in the penalty.

Five minutes later Waterford were back in front as full forward Tom O’Connell completed his hat trick after John Murphy lad lost the ball from a Clare kickout.
At the three quarter stage the teams were on level terms, 3-3 for the home side to 1-9. Waterford held the edge in the final quarter when they held the visitors scoreless.

Scorers: Waterford; Tom. O’Connell (3-1) H, Griffin (1-0) N. McSweeney (0-2) P. Fitxgerald, C. Ryan (0-1) each

Scorers Clare: Mark McInerney (1-3); E. McMahon (0-3) C.Mc Groary, R. Barry, B. McNamara (0-1) each

1: Oisin O’Loughlin (St. Breckans)

2: Ciaran McMahon (Ennistymon),
3: Micheál Garry (Cooraclare),
4: Manus Doherty (Eire Og\);

5: John Murphy (Ennistymon),
6: Tadhg Lillis (Doonbeg),
19: Gavin D’Auria(Eire Og)

8: Eoin Rouine (Ennistymon) capt.
9: Tom McDonald (St. Josephs, Doora-Barefield)

10: Cillian McGroary (Corofin)
11: Emmett McMahon (Kildysart)
12: Ryan Barry (Ennistymon)

13: Cillian Rouine (Ennistymon),
14: Mark McInerney (Éire Óg),
15: Cian O’Mahoney, (St Josephs Miltown)

Brian McNamara(Cooraclare) for McDonald (23);
Jamie Stack (St. Breckans for O’Mahoney(33);
Fionn Kelleher(St. Josephs, Doora-Baefield) for McGroary (34)
Stephen Casey (Clondegad) for D’Auria(45)
Diarmuid Fahy(Ennistymon) for Stack (56)

1: Ben Kirwan (Kill)

2: Sean Boyce (The Nire)
3: Keelan Taylor (St. Saviours)
4: Liam Fennell (Stradbally)

5: Aaron Ryan (The Nire)
6: Colin Foley (Ballinacourty)
7: Ronan Elliffe (Rathgormack)

8: Oscar Geoghegan (St. Mollerans)
9: Caoimhin Walsh (Kilrossanty)

10: Padraig Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty)
11: Niall McSweeney (Gaultier)
12: Tom Dalton (Gaultier)

13: Seamus Fitzgerald (Kilrossanty).
14: Tom O’Connell (Brickey Rangers),,
15: D. J. Kiely (Ballinacourty);

Subs: Sean Walsh (The Nire) for Kiely (half time)
Henry Griffin (Ballinameela) for Geoghegan(50)
Aidab Behan (Kilrossanty) for McSweeney (52);

Referee; Brendan Griffin, Kerry

Related News

Scroll to Top