No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Clare’s Diarmuid Cahill. 

Limerick justified favouritism and qualified for the Munster U20 hurling final when they proved too strong for Clare in the provincial semi-final at the LIT Gaelic Grounds this Monday evening.

Limerick 1-27
Clare 0-17
Venue: LIT Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

A dominant second quarter by the home side saw limerick take control and they powered on in the final quarter for a merited victory.

Clare made two changes to the starting line up from the team which was named with James Maguire and Robin Mounsey coming in to the team in place of William Halpin and Jack Kirwan.

Doolin2Aran Ferries

Maguire went to midfield with Colm O’Meara moving to the half forward line while Mounsey started at corner forward. Clare operated with a two man full forward line of Diarmuid Cahill and Mounsey.

Limerick had the opening two points but the remainder of the opening quarter was evenly contested and at the first water break the sides were level at 0-4 each.

When play resumed Limerick shot four unanswered points in as many minutes some from frees disappointingly conceded by the visitors.who were penalised on a number of occasions for illegal handpasses.

Limerick had the better of the second quarter and this helped them to a seven point interval lead when the score was 0-13 to 0-6. Clare manageed just one point from play in the opening half and this came from midfielder and captain Paddy Donnellan.

Clare improved somewhat in the third quarter when each side added 0-6 to their halftime totals leaving the Shannonsiders with the seven point lead they had held at half time.

Eight minutes from time Adam English brought his tally to 1-6, all from play, when he soloed past a number of Clare defenders and blasted to the net from 20m. English had caused huge problems for the Clare side throughout as did Cathal O’Neill

Scorers Limerick: Cathal O’Neill (0-11)8 frees; Adam English (1-6) Aidan O’Connor (0-4), Jimmy Quilty, Cathal Downes (0-2) each, Colin Coughlan, Patrick Kirby (0-1) each;

Scores Clare; Shane Punch (0-9), 8 frees; Conner Hegarty (0-3) Mike Gough, Dylan McMahon, Paddy Donnellan, Oisin O’Donnell, Diarmuid Cahill (0-1) each

1: Conor O’Neill (Ballybrown)

2: Chris Thomas (Doon)
3: Pádraig Harnett (Ahane)
4: Michael Keane (Adare)

5: Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh)
6: Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)
7: Cormac Ryan (Doon)

8: Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock)
9: Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell)

10: Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)
11: Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister)
12: Adam English (Doon)

13: Bryan Nix (Newcastle West)
14: Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown)
15: Donnacha O Dalaigh (Monaleen)

17: Cathal Downes (Kildimo Pallaskenry) for Kirby (37)
19: Eddie Stokes (Doon) for Hegarty (42)
22: Ronan Fox (Ahane) for Ó Dalaigh (42)
18: Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls) for Nix (50)
23: Patrick Reale (Knockainey) for English (55)

1: Cian Broderick (Clarecastle)

2: Mike Gough (Smith O Briens)
3: Darragh Healy (Clarecastle)
4: Adam Hogan (Feakle)

5: Adam Mungovan (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
6: Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara)
7: Dylan McMahon (Clonlara)

8: Paddy Donnellan (Broadford) Captain
18: James Maguire (Kilmaley)

9: Colm O’Meara (Clonlara)
13: Conner Hegarty (Inagh/Kilnamona)
10: Oisin O’Donnell (Crusheen)

14: Shane Punch (Ruan)
15: Diarmuid Cahill (Corofin)
24: Robin Mounsey (Ruan)

11: William Halpin (Tulla) for Maguire (26)
22: Kevin Keane (Corofin) for Mounsey(half time)
21: Keelan Guyler (Inagh-Kilnamona) for Halpin (51)
12: Jack Kirwan (Parteen) for O’Meara (57)

Referee: Michael Kennedy (Tipperary)

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top