Jims roofing 2008

Clare’s senior camogie side began their All-Ireland championship bid with a draw away to Tipperary.

Clare 0-10

Tipperary 0-10

Venue: The Ragg

By Derek Dormer

The third meeting of this two teams in four weeks and the second draw. In a windswept Ragg, Clare trailed by two points with two minutes to go but late points by Muireann Scanlon and a Chloe Morey free earned what could be a valuable point.

Tipperary won the toss and chose to play with the elements pinning Clare back from the outset. With seventeen minutes played Tipperary led four points to one but should have been further ahead but for some poor shooting.

Two late Lorna McNamara scores either side of a Cait Devane free and Clare headed to the dressing room in a very strong position trailing by only two, five points to three with the massive wind to come.

On the resumption, a long Chloe Morey delivery found Zi Yan Spillane who was unceremoniously brought down for a Clare penalty. Up stepped sharpshooter Lorna McNamara but her low shot was superbly saved by Aine Slattery deflecting it out for a 45 which to her credit McNamara converted. 

The sides traded scores but each time Clare levelled Tipperary responded. In fact Clare never led throughout the sixty minutes and a brace of Cait Devane points put Tipperary in a strong position with time almost up.

With three home games to come after last weekend’s trip to Cork, today’s point could prove vital in the quest to get to Croke Park. 

Best for Clare were Clare Hehir, Chloe Morey and Lorna McNamara while Cait Devane was Tipperary’s chief threat.

Scorers Clare: Lorna McNamara 0-6 (2f 2 45s), Chloe Morey 0-1 (f), Eimear kelly Muireann Scanlon Zi Yan Spillane 0-1 each 

Scorers Tipperary: Cait Devane 0-5 (4f),Eimear McGrath Ereena Fryday Grace O Brien Caoimhe Maher Roisin Howard 0-1 each 


1: Doireann Murphy 

2: Ciara Grogan

3: Clare Hehir 

4: Caoimhe Kelly 

5: Aoife Keane 

6: Chloe Morey 

7: Susan Daly 

8: Niamh O’Dea 

9: Caoimhe Carmody 

10: Lynda Daly 

11: Lorna McNamara 

17: Alannah Ryan 

13: Eimear Kelly 

14: Aine O’Loughlin 

15: Zi Yan Spillane 


Muireann Scanlon for Daly (22) Orlaith Duggan for O’Loughlin (50)

Aoife Power for Carmody (58)


1: Aine Slattery 

2: Julieanne Bourke

3: Mary Ryan

4: Eimear Loughnanne 

5: Ciardha Maher

6: Aoife McGrath

7: Caoimhe McCarthy 

8: Grace O’Brien 

9: Caoimhe Maher

10: Nicole Walsh 

11: Roisin Howard 

12: Casey Hennessey 

13: Claire Hogan 

14: Cait Devane 

15: Clodagh McIntyre 


Mairead Eviston for McCarthy (14) (inj)

Eimear McGrath for Howard (36)

Ereena Fryday for Hennessey (43)

Referee: Justin Heffernan (Wexford)

Related News

bunratty castle hotel
Movement away from hotels for refugee accommodation has been too slow - Carey
Children's Court hears 17-year old boy accused of striking man across the head and leg a number of times
airport travel
Seven diversions to Shannon due to Dublin Airport's drone difficulties
social housing construction
Housing for all but not rural Clare

Subscribe for just €3 per month

If you’re here, you care about County Clare. So do we. Did you rely on us for Covid-19 updates, follow our election coverage, or visit The Clare Echo every week for breaking news and sport? The Clare Echo invests in local journalism and we want to safeguard its future in our county. By becoming a subscriber you are supporting what we do, will receive access to all our premium articles and a better experience, while helping us improve our offering to you. Subscribe to clareecho.ie and get the first six months for just €3 a month (less than 75c per week), and thereafter €8 per month. Cancel anytime, limited time offer. T&Cs Apply. www.clareecho.ie.

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks