Latest News County Clare

Clare qualify for Munster League final

in Home/Sport by

*Photograph by Martin Connolly

A second successive Munster Senior Hurling League final appearance is the reward for Clare for defeating Waterford on Sunday afternoon.

Clare 2-20
Waterford 3-16
Venue: Fraher Field, Dungarvan

Clare led from start to finish and a Tony Kelly goal on the twenty fifth minute put eleven points between the teams.

Further white flags from Kelly and his Ballyea clubmate, Niall Deasy saw Clare hold a 1-14 1-08 half time lead.

In additional time of the second half, Waterford struck for goal via Tommy Ryan and Stephen Bennett but Colin Guilfoyle’s goal earlier in the half proved to Clare holding on.

Both teams came into this game having beaten Cork, Clare overcame the Rebels by two points with Waterford recording a six point victory over John Meyler’s side.

Former hurlers of the year, Tony Kelly and Austin Gleeson featured from the start as the duo played their first bit of inter-county hurling in 2019. Kelly was one of five changes to the Clare side along with the introduction of Donal Tuohy, David McInerney, Conor Cleary and Colin Guilfoyle. David Fitzgerald, David Conroy, Colm Galvin, Gary Cooney and Keith Hogan were the players to make way from the starting team.

It was Pauric Fanning’s second game in charge of Waterford since succeeding Derek McGrath and Shane Bennett’s first appearance in a county jersey since returning to the panel, the Ballysaggart forward took a break from inter-county hurling for 2018.

1. Donal Tuohy (Crusheen)
2. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
3. David McInerney (Tulla)
4. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
5. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona) (0-01)
21. Conor Cleary (St Josephs Miltown)
7. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
8. Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge) (0-03)
23. Tony Kelly (Ballyea) (1-02)
10. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe) (0-06)
11. Niall Deasy (Ballyea) (0-05 3f)
12. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin) (0-01)
17. Colin Guilfoyle (Newmarket On Fergus) (1-01)
14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones na Sionna)
15. Michael O’Neill (Kilmaley)

20. Jack Browne (Ballyea) for Hayes (13)
13. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills) for Shanagher (52)
25. Podge Collins (Cratloe) for O’Neill (55)
9. Davy Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)(0-01)  for Guilfoyle (59)
18. Mikey O’Malley (Kilmaley) for Taylor (60)

1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)
4. Noel Connors (Passage) (Captain)
3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
2. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
5. Micheal Harney (Bunmahon)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion)
23. Colin Dunford (Colligan)
11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. DJ Foran (Portlaw) (0-01)
15. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart) (2-12 1-10f)
13. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) (1-01)

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle) (0-01) for Gleeson (HT)
26. Callum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower) for Harney (HT)
24. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) (0-01) for Shane Bennett (44)
21. Michael Walsh (Stradbally) for Prendergast (52)
19. Jordan Henley (Tallow) for Lyons (70)

Referee: Kevin Jordan (Tipperary)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top