No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Jims roofing 2008

No account yet? Register

*Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

Clare have lost out in their bid to win a first Munster minor football title in 67 years.

Kerry 2-14
Clare 1-07
Venue: LIT Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

In what was the third Munster final meeting between the sides in the past four years, the full-time deficit of ten points serves as a clear indicator of the progress made by Clare. Kerry romped to 24 point (2017) and 20 point (2018) wins in their most recent final encounters.

Hoping to build on their impressive quarter-final and semi-final wins, Clare’s chances of a strong start came undone with two early wides and the concession of a goal, all inside the opening five minutes.

Doolin2Aran Ferries

En route to the decider, Clare clocked up tallies of 1-24 and 4-20 respectively in what were 20 and 19 point victories. Twelve different players had registered on the board in the two outings, but that figure was not matched when it came to facing off with the Kingdom.

Ennistymon’s Diarmuid Fahy tapped over three frees in the opening quarter to settle Clare while Brendan Rouine fired over excellent scores on eighteen and twenty two minutes. No other scorers were registered in the opening half for Clare.

Kerry on the other hand had five different teenagers contributing on the scoreboard. The most significant of these being goals at the beginning and end of the half via Keith Evans and Cian McMahon. McMahon’s green flag arising from a turned over Clare kick out would see them a six point half-time advantage.

Matters did not improve on the resumption as Kerry fired over five further points while Clare failed to threaten on goal, except for a Cillian McGroary effort which dropped into the hands of Sean Broderick.

Dylan O’Brien’s workrate was ever-present over the hour and the industrious Kilrush Shamrocks attacker had the assist for Craig Riordan’s goal on fifty minutes. Riordan a soccer player with Shannon Town Utd demonstrated his composure in front of goal tapping the ball into the back of Broderick’s net.

They finished the encounter with fourteen men as Brian McNamara received a second yellow card.

Brendan Rouine, Mark O’Loughlin, Dylan O’Brien and Cillian McGroary impressed for a Clare side that certainly brought a lift to the county in difficult times.

Scorers Kerry: Cian McMahon (1-02 1f), Keith Evans (1-01), Cillian Burke (0-03), Paudie O’Leary (0-02), Darragh O’Sullivan (0-02 1f), Caolán O’Connell (0-01), Oisin Mounsell (0-01), Maurice O’Connell (0-01), Ruairí Burns (0-01)

Scorers Clare: Craig Riordan (1-01), Diarmuid Fahy (0-03 3f), Brendan Rouine (0-02), Michael Nash (0-01).

1: Sean Broderick (John Mitchells)

2: Cian O’Donoghue (St Marys Cahersiveeen)
3: Joey Nagle (Austin Stacks)
4: Dara O Callaghan (Kilcummin)

8: Oisín Maunsell (Na Gaeill)
6: Armin Heinrich (Austin Stacks)
5: Paudie O Leary (Gneeveguilla)

7: Cillian Burke (Miltown/Castlemaine)
9: Caolán Ó Connaill (Castlegregory)

14: Aaron O’Shea (Listroy)
10: Keith Evans (Kill)
12: Thomas O’Donnell (Castlegregory)

13: Cian McMahon (Dr Crokes)
11: William Shine (Killarney Legion)
15: Darragh O’Sullivan (Churchill)

22: Maurice O Connell (Castlegregory) for Shine (42)
23: Jordan Kissane (Austin Stacks) for O’Shea (42)
17: Ruairí Burns (Sneem) for O’Sullivan (48)
18: Jack McElligott (Listowel Emmets) for O’Donoghue (50)
19: Darragh Fleming (Killarney Legion) O’Leary (50)

1: Thomas Collins (Lissycasey)

4: Dara Rouine (Ennistymon)
3: Fergal Guinnane (Kildysart)
2: Mark O’Loughlin (Corofin)

7: Josh Guyler (Ennistymon)
6: Fionn Kelleher (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
5: Odhran Cunningham (Killimer)

9: Brian McNamara (Cooraclare)
8: Brendan Rouine (Ennistymon)

12: Dara Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield)
11: Cillian McGroary (Corofin)
10: Dylan O’Brien (Kilrush)

15: Diarmuid Fahy (Ennistymon)
14: Craig Riordan (Wolfe Tones)
13: Eoghan Killeen (Doonbeg)

17: Michael Nash (St Josephs Doora/Barefield) for Cunningham (46)
22: Daithí Lohan (Wolfe Tones) for Rouine (53)
18: Sean McMahon (St Josephs Miltown) for Nagle (53)

Referee: Jonathan Hayes (Limerick)

Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter

* indicates required

Related News

Scroll to Top