Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

Clare’s senior footballers have advanced to the All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals for the first time since 2016.

Clare 2-15

Roscommon 1-17

Venue: Croke Park, Dublin

Colm Collins’ side etched out a dramatic win with Keelan Sexton netting 1-01 in the dying moments while Jamie Malone kicked the all-important winner.

Fresh from eliminating Meath, Clare have taken the scalp of Roscommon to tee up a second ever quarter-final appearance.

Trailing by five points with two minutes of normal time remaining, Clare looked to be heading out of this season’s All-Ireland senior football championship but a storming final five minutes saw them score 1-3 without reply to snatch a one point victory over Roscommon and seal a place in the quarter final of this season’s championship.

The Connacht side had enjoyed the better of matters in the second half scoring 0-6 without reply in a ten minute spell in the middle of the second half.

Following their exertions against Meath a week earlier, Clare looked tired in this half and only managed one points between the first minute of the half and the twenty fourth minute.

Four points separated the sides when a foul on Gavin Cooney resulted in a penalty a minute from the end of normal time. Keelan Sexton duly converted and he quicklyk followed with the levelling point when converting a 47m free.

Five minutes of additional time were signalled and in the fourth of these Jamie Malone landed a monster score which proved to be the inning point. Roscommin had the last attack but failed to find the target and Clare had sealed another great win.

Clare fully deserved their two point lead at the half way stage. While they had opened the scoring through midfielder Cathal O’Connor in the opening minute, they raced  five minutes later by a Roscommon goal which came from Diarmuid Murtagh who had slipped inside the defence where he managed to flick the ball over the head of advancing goalkeeper Tristan O’Callaghan.

Clare responded impressively and points from a Keelan Sexton free and Cillian Rounie had the sides level by the eleventh minute.

Roscommon edgeed two clear by the fourteenth minute but an Emmett McMahon fisted effort left the minimum beetween the sides before Clare struck for their goal.

A great team move ended with Ciaran Russell delivering to Keelan Sexton who despite being tackled by three opponents managed to get enough on the ball too get it over the goal line.

The Banner side went on to open a four point led with two minutes remaining in the half but Roscommon finished strongly and they landed the last two points of the half to leave the half time score at 1-10 to 1-8 in Clare’s favour.

Clare went into the game with three changes in personnel from the team which strted against Meath a week earlier. Cillian Rouine, Podge Collins and Keelan Sexton started in place of Conor Jordan, Gavin Cooney and David Tubridy while Roscommon showed one changed from the team named for duty with Diarmuid Murtagh starting at wing forward ahead of Cathal Heneghan.

Scorers Clare; Keelan Sexton 2-6, 1-0 penalty, 0-4 frees); Eoin Cleary (frees) Emmett McMahon, Cathal O’Connor (0-2) each, Jamie Malone,Cillian Rouine, Podge Collins (0-1) each

Scorers Roscommon; Ciaran Murtagh (0-6); Diarmuid Murtagh (1-2) Ronan Daly, Donie Smith (0-2) each Conor Daly, Conor Cox, Niall Kilroy, Richard Hughes, Keith Doyle (0-1) each


1: Tristan O’Callaghan, St. Breckans;

2: Manus Doherty, Eire Og

5: Cian O’Dea, Kilfenora

4: Cillian Rouine, Ennistymon

25: Alan Sweeney, St Breckans

6: Ciara Russell, Eire Og

7: Jamie Malone, Corofin;

8: Darren O’Neill, Eire Og

9: Cathal O’Connor, Coolmeen

10: Pearse Lillis, Cooraclare

11: Eoin Cleary, Miltown St. Josephs

12: Emmet McMahon, Kildysart

18: Podge, Collins, Cratloe

24: Keelan Sexton, Kilmurry-Ibrickane

15: Aaron Griffin. Lissycasey


Brendy Rouine (Ennistymon) for Sweeney (52)

David Tubridy (Doonbeg) for Griffin (53); Gavin Cooney (Eire Og) for Collins (61);

Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks) for McMahon (67)


1: Colm Lavin, Eire Og

2: David Murray, Padraig Pearses

3: Brian Stack, St. Brigid’s

4: Conor Daly, Padraig Pearses

5: Conor Hyussey, Michael Glaveys

6: Niall Daly, Padraig Pearses

7: Ronan Daly, Padraig Pearses

8: Ultan Harney, Clann na Gael

9: Eddie Nolan St. Brigid’s

10: Ciaran Murtagh, Faithleach’s

11: Enda Smith, Boyle

21: Diarmuid Murtagh, St.Faithleach’s

12: Cian McKeon, Boyle

13: Niall Kilroy, Fuerty

14: Conor Cox, Eire Og;


Richard Hughes for Hussey(42);

Donie Smith for Cox (46);

Keith Doyle for Kilroy (58);

Andrew Glennon for Dl Murtagh (65);

Eoin Mccormack for McKeon (68)

Referee; Niall Cullen, Fermanagh


Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks