Latest News County Clare

Clare Juniors secure All-Ireland semi-final spot

in Home/Sport by

Clare’s Junior camogie side have booked their place in the All-Ireland semi-finals following a comprehensive win over Tyrone.

Clare 4-18
Tyrone 1-08
Venue: Edendork, St Malachys GAC

Two wins from their three group games has secured Clare’s place in the last four of the All-Ireland Junior Camogie Championship. Not alone have the Banner picked up two wins on the road but they have clocked up considerable miles in doing so, travelling to Northern Ireland twice in the space of a week overcoming Armagh and Tyrone.

From the start, Clare put their noises in front and this remained the case for the duration of the contest. They held Tyrone scoreless for the first ten minutes and denied everyone bar Roisin McErlean scores.

Feakle’s Regan Conway teed up Sinead O’Keeffe for the opening goal on eighteen minutes creating a five point advantage. At the other end, McErlean was accurate from placed balls to keep the hosts in contention and as half-time dawned the difference was four points.

A strong second half followed from Clare who limited Declan Sherlock’s Tyrone to just 1-02 in the second half while amassing a tally of 3-11 themselves, two green flags coming courtesy of substitute Aoife Shannon.

Since their July 6th one point home defeat to Roscommon, the girls in saffron and blue managed by Ann Marie McGann and Tim McGrath have responded superbly recording victories over Armagh and Tyrone with eight and nineteen point winning margins respectively.

Scorers Clare: R Conway (0-09 1f), S O’Keeffe (2-03), A Shannon (2-00), S Power (0-03), L McDonnell (0-01), K O’Gorman (0-01), A Cahill (0-01).

Scorers Tyrone: R McErlean (1-08 4f),


16: Niamh Lyons (Ruan)
3: Rebecca Crowe (Ruan)
20: Rebecca Cahill (Kilmaley)
4: Orlaith Cotter (Inagh/Kilnamona)
5: Niamh Mulqueen (Broadford)
6: Orla Moloney (St Josephs Doora/Barefield)
7: Corina McMahon (Corofin)
8: Kate O’Gorman (Kilkishen) – Capt
9: Ciara Halpin (Clooney/Quin)
10: Regan Conway (Feakle)
11: Aisling Cahill (Kilmaley)
12: Sinead Power (Inagh/Kilnamona)
13: Louise McDonnell (Ruan)
14: Sinead O’Keeffe (Kilmaley)
15: Claire McDonnell (Ruan)

Subs: Aoife Shannon (Doora/Barefield) for C McDonnell
Siobhan Lenihan (Kilkishen) for Halpin
Louise Browne (Corofin) for A Cahill
Dawn Ryan (Wolfe Tones) for Crowe
Jane Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona) for R Cahill

Referee: Alan Lagrue (Kildare)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top