Latest News County Clare

Clare girls captain UL to Asbourne Cup glory

in Home/Sport by

*Ciara Grogan, Aoife Keane, Andrea O’Keeffe, Clare Hehir, Doireann Murphy, John Lenihan.

Five Clare players collected Ashbourne Cup medals on Sunday as the University of Limerick won their fourth title in succession.

Captained by Inagh/Kilnamona duo Aoife Keane and Clare Hehir, UL defeated UCC 3-08 0-08 in Mallow on Sunday with Galway’s Niamh Hanniffy netting two goals. Clooney/Quin’s Ciara Grogan lined out at corner with the joint captains at six and seven respectively.

Their clubmate Andrea O’Keeffe played at midfield with Clarecastle’s Doireann Murphy completing the Clare contingent. Adrian O’Sullivan who coached the Éire Óg senior hurlers in 2018 was in charge of the Limerick college.

Four Clare women have captained UL to glory in the last four years, Truagh/Clonlara’s Eimear Kelly was the skipper last year while in 2016 Newmarket-on-Fergus’ Laura McMahon collected the Ashbourne Cup for the college.

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top