Latest News County Clare

Clare beat the Rebels by 9 points

in Home/Sport by

*Conall Ó hÁiniféin was one of Clare’s goalscorers. Photograph: Martin Connolly

Clare have defeated Cork in the Allianz National Football League for the third year in succession.

Clare 3-13
Cork 1-10
Venue: Cusack Park, Ennis

A blistering start from Clare in which they netted two goals in the first four minutes of the game set them on their way to overcoming Cork in the third round in the Allianz National Football League.

After clinching the equaliser against Armagh last weekend, David Tubridy was the first on the scoresheet, Jamie Malone took on the Cork defence and Tubridy finished to the net in their first attack.

Mattie Taylor replied for Cork but immediately Clare worked the ball up the field and Conall Ó hÁiniféin picked up his first goal at senior level for the Banner. Luke Connolly and Stephen Sherlock hit the next two scores for the visitors before Tubridy slotted over Clare’s first score in seventeen minutes and their opening point of the game.

Tubridy and Stephen Cronin traded efforts as Dale Masterson and Dean Ryan put two in succession on the board for the hosts. Tubridy and Conor Finucane added points which were cancelled out by Sherlock and Connolly which left the scoreline reading 2-06 0-06 at the break.

It took eight minutes for the first score of the second half, coming via Cratloe’s Sean Collins. Three further points from the boot of David Tubridy kept Clare in control, however Ronan McCarthy’s side cut the deficit to five points on sixty eight minutes when Ian Maguire fisted to the back of the net.

Further efforts from Tubridy on the double, a forty yard strike from Conor Finucane and a Kieran Malone goal to finish sealed the win for Colm Collins’ side, their first of the 2019 league.

Clare scorers: David Tubridy (1-7, 3f, one 45),  Conal Ó hAiniféin (1-0), Kieran Malone (1-0), Conor Finnucane (0-2), Jamie Malone (0-1), Dale Masterson (0-1), Dean Ryan (0-1), Sean Collins (0-1).

Cork scorers: Ian Maguire (1-0), Luke Connolly (0-3, 2f), Matthew Taylor (0-2, 1f), Stephen Sherlock (0-2, 2f), Liam O’Donovan, Michael Hurley and Stephen Cronin (0-1 each).


Pierce DeLoughrey (Cratloe)

Kevin Harnett (Meelick)
Cillian Brennan (Clondegad)
Gordon Kelly (St Josephs Miltown)

Dean Ryan (Éire Óg)
Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)
Conall Ó hÁiniféin (Éire Óg)

Gary Brennan (Clonedgad)
Darragh Bohannon (Shannon Gaels)

Dale Masterson (St Breckans)
Jamie Malone (Corofin)
Cian O’Dea (Kilfenora)

Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
David Tubridy (Doonbeg)
Conor Finucane (Lissycasey)

Pearse Lillis (Cooraclare) for Bohannon (HT)
Sean Collins (Cratloe) for Sexton (HT)
Kieran Malone (St Josephs Miltown) for Lillis (53) (Inj)
Alan Sweeney (St Breckans) for Masterson (63)
Cormac Murray (St Josephs Miltown) for Finucane (74)

Mark White (Clonakilty)

Kevin O’ Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
Conor Dennehy (St Finbarrs)

Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)
Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
James Loughrey (Mallow)
Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
Ronan O’ Toole (Eire Og)

Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
Mattie Taylor (Mallow)

Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
Ruairi Deane (Bantry)
Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) for Loughery (9 mins),
Aidan Browne (Newmarket) for Cronin (47 mins),
Paul Walsh (Kanturk) for O’Donovan (47 mins, inj),
Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael) for Clancy (60 mins),
Damien Gore (Kilmacbea) for Sherlock (60 mins).

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

Páraic McMahon is Head of News & Sport with The Clare Echo. The Newmarket-on-Fergus native also writes for national papers including The Irish Examiner, The Irish Independent and The Irish Times along with doing work for RTÉ, Today FM, and A graduate of Mary Immaculate College, Páraic was previously employed by The Clare Herald and Clare FM. If you have a story, tip or some feedback for him then send an email to -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top