Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Shane Meehan. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

SHANE MEEHAN is to make his championship debut for the Clare senior hurlers this Sunday.

Banner clubman Meehan is the only debutant included in the announced side with Peter Duggan set to make his first championship start since June 2019.

Ian Galvin, the man who scored the all-important goal when Clare defeated Tipperary in the Munster SHC at Semple Stadium in 2018 is also named in the Clare attack with Tony Kelly, David Fitzgerald and Ryan Taylor.

Brian Lohan has stuck with his usual full-back line of Rory Hayes, Conor Cleary and Paul Flanagan with Feakle’s Eibhear Quilligan behind them. A midfield pairing of Cathal Malone and Shane Golden is named, with Diarmuid Ryan recovering from a back injury to form a half-back line with John Conlon and David McInerney, there is no room in the defence for Ballyea’s Jack Browne.

Speculation is circulating that Shane O’Donnell may yet feature from the off on Sunday with potential changes in the middle of the field subsequently. The fifteen announced was first issued to all Club Clare members.

Tipperary manager, Colm Bonnar has made two switches from the team that lost by four points to Waterford last weekend. The injured Conor Bowe makes way along with midfielder Alan Flynn, in their place come sharpshooter John McGrath and Dan McCormack who hit 0-02 when introduced on forty five minutes. Craig Morgan is expected to be handed the difficult task of curbing Tony Kelly.

Wexford’s James Owens referees Sunday’s game which commences at 2pm at FBD Semple Stadium.

1: Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2: Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
3: Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
4: Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)

5: Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
6: John Conlon (Clonlara)
7: David McInerney (Tulla)

8: Shane Golden (Sixmilebridge)
9: Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)

10: Ryan Taylor (Clooney/Quin)
11: Tony Kelly (Ballyea)
12: David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)

13: Peter Duggan (Clooney/Quin)
14: Shane Meehan (Banner)
15: Ian Galvin (Clonlara)


16: Éamonn Foudy (Inagh/Kilnamona)

17: Cian Nolan (Smith O’Briens)

18: Domhnall McMahon (Michael Cusacks)

19: Robin Mounsey (Ruan)

20: Patrick Crotty (Scariff)

21: Aaron Fitzgerald (Éire Óg)

22: Jason McCarthy (Inagh/Kilnamona)

23: Jack Browne (Ballyea)

24: Paidi Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge)

25: Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones)

26: Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)


1: Brian Hogan (Lorrha Dorrha)

2: Cathal Barrett (Holycross Ballycahill)
3: James Quigley (Kiladangan)
4: Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

5: Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty Rossmore)
6: Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7: Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s)

8: Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
9: Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

10: Jason Forde (Silvermines)
11: Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12: Michael Breen (Ballina)

13: Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14: Mark Kehoe (Kilsheehan Kilcash)
15: John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks