*Burren Gaels. Photograph: Burren Eye Photography

BURREN Gaels are intermediate champions for 2021 after a clinical display with a lethal full forward line, Sally King and Lizzie Roche accounting for 2-11 of their 3-13 total.

Burren Gaels 3 -13
St Josephs Miltown 1-10
Venue: Shanahan McNamara Memorial Park, Doonbeg

By Derek Dormer

It was a stop start affair throughout with fifty seven frees being awarded never really flowed as a result but all the defining moments belonged to Burren Gaels.

At the first water break, they led 2-2 0-2 with a Sally King goal being the highlight getting onto a precision radar like pass from Lizzie Roche before burying into the top corner. Laura Griffey scored the other goal in this first quarter.

By the half time break, the lead was extended to eight points as Sally King completely took over kicking four points in succession.

Miltown battled bravely and outscored their opponents five points to three in the third quarter but at this stage they needed green flags. Abbie Downes forced a terrific save from Siobhan Talty and with that any lingering hopes of a comeback was quashed.

A late Lizzie Roche goal was cancelled out by an Abbie Downes penalty but it was all too little too late as seconds later referee John O’Connell blew the final whistle and Burren return to the senior ranks.

Scorers Burren Gaels: Sally King (1-7 4f), Lizzie Roche (1-4 2f), Laura Griffey (1-0), Orlaith O’Gorman (0-1), Theresa Collins (0-1).

Scorers St Miltown Malbay: Abbie Downes (1-5 1’Pen 5f), Emer Keane (0-2), Caoimhe Carmody (0-1), Sarah Looney (0-1), Fiona Lafferty (0-1).

Burren Gaels
1: Blathnaid Sheedy

2: Aine Hegarty
3: Aoife Forde
4: Ailbhe McGann

5: Katie Cannale
6: Caoilinn McCormack
7: Aileen O Reilly

8: Orlaith O’Gorman
18: Norah O’Dwyer

10: Laura Griffey
21: Theresa Collins
12: Emma Healy

13: Shannon McCormack
14: Sally King
15: Lizzy Roche

26: Roisin McNamara for King (45) (inj)
9: Niamh McNamara for O’Reilly (51)
24: Fiona Loughman for R McNamara (53) (inj)

St Josephs Miltown
1: Siobhan Talty

2: Ciara Hayes
3: Emma Hickey
18: Ciara Burke

5: Hannah Shannon
6: Aine Keane
7: Grainne Lynch

8: Caoimhe Carmody
17: Aine Talty

24: Lucy Flanagan
19: Ellen Flanagan
12: Sarah Looney

13: Eimear Keane
14: Rachel Healy
15: Elisha Twomey

9: Fiona Lafferty for Lynch (15)
25: Eabha O’Malley for Burke (27)
23: Grace Carnody for Hickey (52)

Referee: John O’Connell

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates OK No thanks