No account yet? Register

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

No account yet? Register

*Catriona Callinan powers forward for Kilmihil. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

After two rounds of game in the Clare ladies senior football championship, title holders Banner Ladies and their predecessors as champions, Kilmihil remain unbeaten while former winners, West Clare Gaels got their first win of the campaign. The championship continues this weekend with round three taking place.

Third quarter decisive for Banner Ladies

Banner 2-14
Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-7
Venue: Banner GAA Grounds, Ennis

A strong third quarter showing proved decisive as defending champions Banner overcame last year’s intermediate champions Kilmurry-Ibrickane in round two of the Clare ladies senior football championship on Sunday.

At the end of an evenly fought first half the winners were 1-7 to 1-4 ahead with Kilmurry’s goal coming f rom Sophie Daly.

Without the injured Niamh O’Dea, the champions upped their game after half time and they held the upperhand in the third quarter which, ultimately, proved decisive.
Goalscorers on the day for the winners were Grainne Nolan and Aoibheann Malone. Banner will take on St. Josephs at Gurteen on this Sunday

Banner Ladies; Emma O’Driscoll; Siobhan McMahon, Claire Hehir, Leah Talty; Lisa Ryan, Aoife O’Dea, Sinead O’Keeffe; Laurie Ryan. Louise Henchy; Louise Woods, Grainne Nolan, Sarah Ní Ceallaigh; Aoibhin Ryan, Aoibheann Malone, Aoife Keane;

Subs; Shonagh Enright for Talty; Sinead Power for Henchy; Alannah McNamara for Keane; Anna Marie Meenaghan for Ryan.

Kilmurry Ibrickane; Katie McMahon; Jessica Doohan, Rebecca Doohan, Rachel Tubridy; Maeve Coughlan; Karen Coughlan, Emma Coughlan; Ellie Hanrahan; Joanna Doohan; Ciara McCarthy, Sophie Daly, Chloe Moloney (0-6, 3f); Catlyn O’Connor; Karen Galvin (0-4), Amy Sexton.

Subs; Chloe O’Dea for E Hanrahan; Emma Murray for Jessica Doohan

West Clare Gaels bounce back

West Clare Gaels 2-10
Cooraclare 1-11
Venue: Cooraclare

West Clare Gaels got their challenge for honours back on track in the Clare ladies senior football championship when they overcame Cooraclare.

However, in the event of score difference being required to determine positions at the end of the group stage, there is sure to be some discussion in Cooraclare about this tie as their scorekeepers had a tally of 1-13 for their side at the end of this tie.

However, the referee’s (Noel Quinn) final tally was 2-10 to 1-11 and the referee’s report is final on such matters.

At the end of the first quarter Cooraclare led by a point but by half time the teams were level at 0-6 each.

Shauna Harvey had a goal early in the second half and West Clare did well in this period. Midway through the half Cooraclare fought back helped by a goal from Roisin Looney.

West Clare Gaels substitute Niamh Lardner struck for her side’s second goal which proved decisive in helping them to this victory.

West Clare Gaels; Emma McMahon; Sophie O’Callaghan, Sara Marrinan, Ciara McQuaid; Sorracha Griffin, Becky Madigan, Aine Moloney; Grainne Harvey, Ruth Ferguson; Caoimhe Harvey, Roisin Brew, Colette Keniry; Aoife Lynch, Shauna Harvey, Fidelma Marrinan.

Subs: Niamh Lardner for S O’Callaghan; Siobhan Keane for A. Lynch; Nell Walsh for C. Keniry

Cooraclare; Anne Marie Callinan; Aifric O Neill, Laura Quinlivan, Saskia Morrissey; Sinead Lillis, Aisling Morrissey, Katie Lillis; Shauna O Gorman, Roisin Looney, Anna Mae Killeen, Nicola Keating, Megan Downes, Aimee Mc Namara, Katie Cronin, Aoibhe Hehir

Sub: Caoilfhinn Morrisey for Aoibhe Hehir (half time)

Another win for Kilmihil

Kilmihil 3-8
St Josephs Doora/Barefield 1-6
Venue: Kilmihil

Kilmihil made it two wins from two outings when they accounted for Doora-Barefield in round two of the Clare ladies senior football championship

Goals from Catriona Callinan, Edel McNamara and Sarah Browne helped the home side to this victory on a day when the visitor’s goal came from Amy Lenihan

Kilmihil; Michaela Glynn; Cathy Keating, Deirbhle Higgins, Rosie Currane; Zoe Ryan, Ellie O’Gorman, Kate Coughlan; Laura Egan (0-1), Chloe Devitt; Elaine O’Halloran, Caitriona Callinan (1-1), Aoife McNamara; Edel McNamara (1-2), Becky Mahon (0-4), Carol Browne

Subs: Megan Downes Ryan for C Browne; Katie O’Halloran for C. Devitt; Sarah Browne(1-0) for Z. Ryan

St. Josephs Doora/Barefield; Caoifhlinn Ni Chonnaill, Kate Dillon, Megan O’Brien, Maedhbh O’Connor; Hannah Doyle, Ciara Cahill, Siofra Ni Chonaill; Ashling Reidy (0-3), Emer Hanrahan; Chloe Towey, Ciara Guilfoyle, Roisin Cahill; Hannah Meaney, Ashling Hannan, Amy Lenihan (1-2)

Subs: Lyndsey Clarke (0-1) for Hannah Meaney; Shauna Moloney for Emer Hanrahan; Aoibhinn O’Loughlin for Ciara Guilfoyle; Sinead O’Connor for Hannah Doyle.

Related News

Scroll to Top
Enable Notifications for the latest news and updates    OK No thanks