Latest News County Clare

Marvellous Clare minors advance to Munster semi-final

in Home/Sport by

*Clare captain Brendan Rouine in full flight. Photograph: Gerard O’Neill

A comprehensive twenty point win has resulted in Clare’s minor footballers advancing to a sixth successive provincial semi-final.

Clare 1-24
Tipperary 1-04
Venue: Semple Stadium, Thurles

A blistering third quarter in which they outscored their opponents 1-9 to 0-1 steered Clare to a comfortable victory over Tipperary in this Electric Ireland Munster minor football quarter final.

The win has earned Clare a semi-final date with Limerick at Hennessy Park, Miltown on Wednesday evening next.

Much the better team throughout, Clare dominated in every sector and put together some excellent moves.

Clare dominated the opening quarter and when the first water break came they had a six point led, 0-7 to 0-1. They had the first point when play resumed but minutes later they were caught at the other end and Liam McCormack provided the cross for team captain Toby Lambe to fist the ball to the Clare net.

McCormack added a point and the lead was down to two but Clare responded impressively and hit three points to lead at the interval on a score of 0-11 to 1-2.

Indeed the Banner side should have been further ahead at this stage. Two goal chances produced impressive saves from the Tipperary goalie Tom Bourke at the expense of ‘45’s.

Clare were guilty of shooting eight wides in a first half in which the movement of their forwards caused huge problems for the home side.

Scorers Clare: Diarmuid Fahy (1-6, 0-2 free); Cillian McGroary (0-5, 1 free); Craig Riordan (0-4, 2 frees, 1 ‘45), Dara Nagle (0-3); , Dylan O’Brien 0-2), Brian McNamara, Fionn Kelleher, Josh Guyler. Sean McMahon (0-1)each

Scorers Tipperary; Toby Lambe (1-0) Jack Buckley (frees), Liam McCormack (0-2) each

Thomas Collins (Lissycasey)

Mark O’Loughlin (Corofin)
Fergal Guinnane (Kildysart)
Dara Rouine (Ennistymon)

Odhran Cunningham (Killimer)
Fionn Kelleher (Doora-Barefield)
Josh Guyler (Ennistymon)

Brendan Rouine (Ennistymon) Capt.
Brian McNamara (Cooraclare)

Dylan O’Brien (Kilrush)
Cillian McGroary (Corofin)
Dara Nagle (Doora-Barefield)

Eoin Killeen (Doonbeg)
Craig Riordan (Wolfe Tones)
Diarmuid Fahy (Ennistymon);

Daithi Lohan (Wolfe Tones) for D. Rouine (49)
Sean McMahon (St Josephs Miltown) for B. Rouine (49)
Michael Nash (Doora-Barefield) for Riordan (49)
L. Conway (Doonbeg) for Killeen (55)
Callum Beirne (Clooney-Quin) for Guinnane (55)

Tom Bourke (J. K. Brackens)

Sean O’Meara (Grangemockler-Ballyneale)
James Moore (Clonmel Commercials)
Keith Cahalane (Lorrha/Dorrha)

Darragh McVickeer (Clonmel Og)
Emmett Butler (Kilsheelan/Kilcash)
Oisin Maher (Cahir)

Toby Lambe (Holycross/Ballycahill) Capt
Ciaran Condon (Cahir)

Jack Nevin (J. K. Brackens)
Jack Buckley (Cahir)
Sean Ryan (Upperchurch/Drombane)

Eoin Craddock (Holycross/Ballycahill)
Rory Collins (Moyle Rovers)
Liam McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields)

Conor Neville (Kilsheelin/Kilcash) for McVicker (9) (inj)
Conor O’Brien (Mullinahone) for Cradock (HT)
Tom Downey (Rockwell Rovers) for Lambe (37)
Anthony Keely (Clonmel Commercials) for Ryan (41)
Declan Nee (Clonmel Commercials for Morris (50) (inj)

Referee; Jonathan Hayes, Limerick

Seamus Hayes is one of the most well-respected local sports journalists in the country. For close to fifty years, the Lissycasey native was Sports Editor of The Clare Champion. Subsequent to his departure from Barrack St, he began writing for publications including The Clare Echo, The Clare People and The Irish Daily Star. He has won multiple awards during his distinguished career including accolades for GAA, Community Games and Camogie coverage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Home

0 £0.00
Go to Top